Saturday, February 15, 2014

Full Film:We're Not Married! Starring Marilyn Monroe,Zsa Zsa Gabor,Ginger Rogers

We're Not Married! (1952) is an American romantic comedy film released by 20th Century Fox. The featured was directed by Edmund Goulding. The story is from Gina Kaus's and Jay Dratler's unpublished work "If I Could Remarry". The film starred Victor Moore, Ginger Rogers, Fred Allen, Marilyn Monroe, David Wayne, Eve Arden, Paul Douglas, Eddie Bracken, and Mitzi Gaynor. Co-stars included Louis Calhern, Zsa Zsa Gabor, James Gleason, Paul Stewart, and Jane Darwell.

When elderly Mr. Bush (Victor Moore) is appointed justice of the peace, he starts marrying couples on Christmas Eve. However, his appointment is only valid on the first of January. Two years later, this issue becomes known, when one of the six couples he married files divorce. To avoid a bigger scandal, the remaining five couples are informed that they are not really married. The film then shows how the couples react on the news:
  • Couple #1: is Steve Gladwyn (Fred Allen) and Ramona (Ginger Rogers), a husband-and-wife radio team whose huggy-kissy behavior on the air conceals the fact that they'd dearly love to cut each other's throats.
  • Couple #2: consists of stay at home father Jeff Norris (David Wayne) and his Beauty contest-happy spouse Annabel (Marilyn Monroe), who's just won the "Mrs. Mississippi" pageant.
  • Couple #3: is Hector Woodruff (Paul Douglas) and Katie (Eve Arden), who ran out of things to say to each other long ago.
  • Couple #4: is the kind millionaire Freddie Melrose (Louis Calhern) and his gold-digging young bride Eve (Zsa Zsa Gabor), who intends to divorce him and make off with his millions.
In the end, all but Couple #4 get remarried. A sixth segment, starring Hope Emerson and Walter Brennan as an Ozark backwoods unmarried couple, was deleted before the film's release.


No comments:

Post a Comment